Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Fri Dec 09, 2016 7:13 am

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2009 3:53 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 1:35 am
Posts: 380
Will an 8 speed cassette fit a 9/10/11 speed body?

I assume the body will be too long, but if the splines match I guess that could easily be overcome with a spacer. So do the splines match?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: campag cassettes
PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2009 5:01 pm 
Retro Guru

Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 9:57 pm
Posts: 641
sorry an 8 speed will not fit on a nine speed the splines are differant.
you can change an 8 speed to 9 though.
use a normal 8 speed cassette but use 10 speed spacers, and an extra sprocket either campag or marchiosise ones, and you need to have the top spocket machined to the same size as the 10 speed spacer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2009 10:14 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 1:35 am
Posts: 380
No need to be sorry, it's not your fault ;) Thanks for the answer, I was playing with the thought of buying a pair of 2nd hand Khamsin wheels because they look nice and they come in gold. But the hub is for 9/10 (some sources say 9/10/11, which confuses me) so that won't work. Oh well, I'll just get myself some Campagnolo 8 speed wheels with Rigidas or something and paint the rims gold myself :o
Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 12:15 am 
Retro Guru

Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 9:57 pm
Posts: 641
just a thought, u could buy the wheels and convert the 9 speed cassette to an 8 using 8 speed spacers. google white industries and I think they have a 'how to ' on there web site. have some spacers if you want some.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 3:31 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 1:35 am
Posts: 380
Hmm yes I haven't thought about that.. But the wheels come without a cassette and I have an 8 speed group, including cassette, laying around. So going that route will be cheaper than having to buy a 9 spd cassette and respacing it.. But I'll give it a thought.
Are all the sprockets on a Campagnolo 9 spd cassette individual loose sprockets? I haven't tried taking a Campagnolo cassette apart yet, but the Shimano ones I own have only the smallest 3 or 4 sprockets loose, the bigger ones are all on one unit.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 4:26 pm 
Retro Guru

Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 9:57 pm
Posts: 641
all the ones on my 9 speed cassettes are seperate, a good site to look at is
www.blandfordbike.com lots of interesting tech specs

also highpath engineering in mid wales, does spare sprockets for all campag and shimano cassettes

hope this is of help


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 4:43 pm 
Retro Guru

Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 9:57 pm
Posts: 641
sorry wrong name

www.branfordbike.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: larrytx01, vintagebicycleman and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group