Bottecchia Equipe/SLX 89?

Botty Kayer

Dirt Disciple
Hello fellow bike lovers,

I have just acquired a lovely Bottecchia that I am going to build up with 10 speed Campagnolo. Since buying the bike and waiting a few weeks for it to be shipped from across the world, and to clear customs before it gets to me in the UK, I have been looking up online to try and properly identify the frame, its age and anything else about it really. A lot of info I saw on here so thought I'd join up.

I am no expert but from reading around it looks like its an Equipe model,but I've seen them described as SLX and Professional, so I'm not sure of the difference, if any, between them? Here a pic of frame and fork
vhOy3YF.jpg

The frame has a lovely Cinelli spoiler bottom bracket, The 57 relates to the size and SLX the material, the inside of the down tube has the rifling to confirm this, but I don't now if there way of telling the age from the 4706 number? The bottom bracket also has Carnielli stamped on it, who I think built it and did top quality from what I can see..
snV7vUk.jpg

The down tube also has a Carnielli sticker celebrating their 80th anniversary, which hints the frame is from 1989, the year Lemond rode a Bottecchia to victory in the TDF.
lIKFYFk.jpg

From what I can see Lemond rode about 5 bikes in the TDF that year?, in the mountains he used a Bottecchia badged TVT with a sort of yellow and purple colour scheme, and used a red Bottecchia for the flat stages, but of all the pics I see online the of bike it has white forks and white rear end not chrome. The TT version with the aero bars, which also didn't have any chrome on from what I can see, was arguably one of the most famous TT bikes ever, as fitted with aerobars Lemond pipped Fignon to victory on the final TT in what I think is still the closest TDF finish ever. So that's a really cool bit of heritage if the year is true.