Road lights...dazzling drivers problem!

wookiee

Retrobike Rider
Feedback
View
Hi guys,

I am having issues with my off road lights being used on the road! Even when I tilt them so they are hitting a few meters ahead of me I get flashed by oncoming cars.

This light even on low beam with a DIY handlebar mount that allow me to pan and tilt (but it is very flooded):

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/CREE-XM-L-U2- ... Sw3ydVlfgR

This light from Lezyne, more spotted and again on its lowest setting...

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/lezy ... prod122418

What have been your experiences with lights and drivers? Any thoughts, recommendations or experiences appreciated.

Thanks

Doug

When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.
True, I'm a driver but I accept that a bright light makes me aware that you are there and won't run you over.

Let them get over it.

Shaun

Midlife":i074jk03 said:
True, I'm a driver but I accept that a bright light makes me aware that you are there and won't run you over.

Let them get over it.

Shaun

I too am a driver but I also want to be a considerate rider...I had a Bus hoot and flash me tonight! Are there any lights that are more suited to the road??

A solution to your problem may lay in the past… Remember when we had our lights mounted on the forks.
I would fabricate a bracket to mount the lights on the forks thus reducing the height of the beam putting it below bonnet level and hey presto no dazzle and road lit up like a christmas tree.

kingbling":29kgui2f said:
A solution to your problem may lay in the past… Remember when we had our lights mounted on the forks.
I would fabricate a bracket to mount the lights on the forks thus reducing the height of the beam putting it below bonnet level and hey presto no dazzle and road lit up like a christmas tree.