Bike Seat Cluster Construction History

Cogley

Retro Newbie
Greetings All,

I'm a newbie on here but not to the love of bikes. I've been working at home a lot recently and this allowed me to do a couple of restoration projects which I have thoroughly enjoyed. This was also promoted having read Rob Penns book. I'm not a diehard cyclist like friends who take part in triathlons and iron man comps, I'm a designer and its the history, architecture, grace and evolution of the bicycle that really seduces me. This has lead me onto the question I want to ask. I have searched the internet for the answer with no luck yet :? .

The seat cluster is a fascinating part of the bike, when did bike manufacturers stop bolted seat stays and move to fully welded clusters? Looking at many frames online I guess around the 30s but any other knowledge and input very welcome. Having restored an old Hercules which is numbered, but because records of numbers are sparse, this allows one to have an approximate age of the bike. Also on older Hercules (not sure about other makes) there are shoulders on the stays which later models don't have.

I've put a picture of my Hercules below, I believe its a Hercules Popular, any other ideas welcomed, its still work in progress :D

Cheers!

Attachments

• Hercules.jpg
    Hercules.jpg
    41.7 KB · Views: 360
Re:

Hello,

First: The bolt up roadster frames with pressed (trapped) ends were a vastly cheaper way of making a "lookalike" frame. Originally the frames would have cast or forged ends brazed in, but still bolted at the seat cluster.

Bastide (Paris) in 1913 started the fully brazed frame. For old type components you might find a BSA frame components or Chater Lea catalogue.

In the 30s Hercules sold a single speed roadster for £3.19.6d
Your Hercules has the handlebar at least 2 inches too high.