tandem wheel advice

andymcadie

Retro Newbie
Hi, I'm a newbie to the forum. I've got a 1942 Claude butler SWB tandem that i'm trying to get ready for this years L'Eroica and i'm in need of some advice regarding the front wheel. Last year the brakes were really scary on the Derbyshire hills resulting in a loss of shoe leather. This year i'm trying to fit a hub brake to the front wheel to help the aged Resillion brakes. I've got hold of a NOS tandem hub brake from a friend but it only has holes for 24 spokes. My existing wheel is a 36 hole hub. The spokes are heavy grade tandem spokes but i'm worried that the wheel won't be strong enough with the new spoke count. Does anyone ave any advice.
Thanks, Andy.

Hi.
24 is a very low count for a tandem. Having said that we ride 32 on both wheels with no problem. Lot depends on your combined weight and what the bike has in the luggage dept.Also you may not find the hub brake to be over brilliant.I once fitted an old marin out with two of them and it was not a good idea.I think a lot is going to depend on the rim.The hub is designed for 24 so is probably o.k.It may not look right for what you are doing but you really need a tough semi aero to carry it.I have a pair of mavic cx18 on 24 spoke and the front rim has cracked and thats on a solo road bike. 24 hole stuff is not easy to find either.sorry to be all doom . Any chance the hub flange would take more drillings to increase spokage ?
peter

Thanks for the reply Peter. I think the hub would take some more but not too sure I could get the holes equidistant, may end up with 48 spokes! The combined weight of the riders is about 26 stone as my stoker has a bit of meat on the bone so I think I may have to re-think the braking. I love the look of the original Resillion brakes but they're pretty ineffective, especially with a steel rim. Perhaps I'll swap for some Mavics I've got in the garage.
Cheers, Andy.