Right bottom bracket - BB question.

MrMoar

Dirt Disciple
Hi guys,
First of all sorry if this question will be stupid. And second, sorry - im a noob building my first bike.
I did tried to look for information and googled the stuff out of a google, but there is so many numbers, letters and measurements that confuses me.
My frame BB fitting (shell?) is ITA 36x24f, and i got DA 7700 group. Need a BB.
1. I found that I need 109.5 as my group is 9spd double. Am I right?
2. Any Shimano BB with octalink v1 will do the job (5500, 6500, 7700) yes/no?
3. I found few brackets, but what is the first number in marking - 70(6:cool: - 109.5? 109.5 is the width of the shell, and 68 or 70 is the width of the fitting right?
4. Is there any other measurements I should be aware off?
5. Whats the difference between 36x24f and 36x24t?

You need an Italian BB which has a shell width of 70mm (english BB are 68mm wide)
The Italian BB cups are both right hand thread 36x24 TPI
English BB are Left hand tread for the chain wheel side & right hand thread for the non drive side, 1.370 X24 TPI (BSC) 1.375 x 24 (ISO)
70mm & 68mm refer to the width of the BB shell, 109.5 is the length of the BB axel

IMHO If you have a D/A groupset the fit a D/A BB as they are much better quality & lighter.

Hope That helps

stringfellow1946":31sgi88o said:
You need an Italian BB which has a shell width of 70mm (english BB are 68mm wide)
The Italian BB cups are both right hand thread 36x24 TPI
English BB are Left hand tread for the chain wheel side & right hand thread for the non drive side, 1.370 X24 TPI (BSC) 1.375 x 24 (ISO)
70mm & 68mm refer to the width of the BB shell, 109.5 is the length of the BB axel

IMHO If you have a D/A groupset the fit a D/A BB as they are much better quality & lighter.

Hope That helps

Thanks for your reply. But just to confirm, if I'll buy ITA BB any of those will fit my frame or is there is more then one BB with italian thread? Something like width of the bottom bracket?