Help identifying old Claud Butler

IKB5

Retro Newbie
Hi,

I've just inherited this old CB, which belonged to my grandfather. My mum tells me he used to ride it everywhere and in a fair few races. However, she also tells me he used to touch up the paint himself, which is why it looks a bit rough.

I'm pretty new to this and am keen to restore and use it if possible but would like to know what I'm dealing with first. I'm looking to date it and work out the exact model if possible.

Things that might help with this:

- The Sturmey Archer hub.
- The apparent lack of lugs.
- The Olympic badge on the front.
- Osgear dropouts (possibly)

Things that won't help with this:

- The rubbish seat that my dad put on it.
- The rubbish dynamo that my dad put on it.

Any advice anyone has would be greatly appreciated.

Pictures here: https://www.flickr.com/photos/bry-z/set ... 369964005/

Re:

Hi, nice bike, the serial number on the underside of the bottom bracket will date it, at a guess 1948, it has pre war angles but the sturmey changer is post war, the badge is post war, and the burlite brakes ( very rare ) are post war. The model maybe difficult to find, as the catalog references at rare. Terry

Re:

Thanks Terry, I'll need to clean it up a bit before I can get to the serial number underneath. I'd just started researching the brakes so it's good to know they're rare as well. Hopefully, I'll get to the bottom of it.

Cheers,

Ian

Re: Re:

IKB5":133xb1c7 said:
Thanks Terry, I'll need to clean it up a bit before I can get to the serial number underneath. I'd just started researching the brakes so it's good to know they're rare as well. Hopefully, I'll get to the bottom of it.

Cheers,

Ian

Just in case you haven't already stumbled on it, a useful link here, complete with scans of post-war CB brochures:

http://www.nkilgariff.com/ClaudButler.htm

1948-49 seems a good estimate given the lugless construction.

David

Re: