Classic Raleigh ??? Identification

buckfast

Dirt Disciple
Hello everyone,

New to the forum so not sure if this is the correct place to say hello and to tell you about my new acquisition.

I'm also new to the classic bike scene, so forgive me if I start speaking nonsense.

I've just bough my first classic road bike from a gentleman in my area for £50. The Raleigh was almost complete when I got it but is now in the process of being stripped down for a bit of TLC. It love the look of it as it reminds me of seeing people riding these when I was a kid, wishing I could afford one too!

It came with two alloy wheels, one with a Raleigh sticker and the other with a scuffed red sticker which says made in France). Rear hub fitted with a 5 speed freewheel cassette. The wheels were fitted with 700x20c Michelin tyres which were all cracked but I've kept them anyway. It had a Shimano Acera X rear Derailleur but the front Derailleur was missing. It has Shimano 600 drilled brake leaver and Shimano clamp on downtube shifters. It has a Stronglight crankset which, after some internet searches I believe to be a model 49D. Sadly the pedal on the non drive side was seized solid. Whilst trying to remove the seized pedal stem the alloy around the threads gave way and cracked. I was a little upset to say the least. Maybe a little gentle heat on the crank would have helped but I was worried about distorting it :( I'm also stuck trying to get the drive side off the BB as my puller is a smaller diameter than the crank. Measuring the crank and nut cover, it would appear to be around 23mm rather than the 22mm on my puller. Any advice here would be very welcome. The other side came off with a general purpose three leg puller, but this method isn't possible on the drive side.

I'm not sure if any of these items are original to the bike which is one reason I'm here now.