What brakes with 700c's

severnthheathen

Devout Dirtbag
I'm new to this retro stuff. What brakes would you recommend with a frame built for 27" but now converted to 700c's? Don't mind whether side pull or centre pull. The frame is a 1962 Severn Valley. Help please.

You need the measure from the centre of the caliper hole to the centre of the wheel rim, that measurement is the caliper reach you will need. Generally when going from a 27" wheel to 700c the reach will be quite long and the caliper choice is very small. Tektro R559's are the usual choice and they come with a nutted fix.

I have converted two older machines to 700c from 27" with no difficulty whatever. Both my Vikings in fact. There is only a 6mm difference in drop after all, and in both cases the Mafac brakes had enough range of adjustment.

The advantages are considerable: wider range of tyres as well as lighter and stronger wheels. On the other hand, I took my 27" wheeled Mottram out in the mud and muck today, and was glad of the fatter tyres,

Thanks guys, I have earmarked the nutted R559's as a possible solution (a good dual pivot brake by all account and not overly expensive). But I was wondering if there was anything with a bit more retro feel that folk were using. It looks like the Mafacs (Racer??) might be a possibility; I also like the look of the Weinmann long drop centre pulls. I'm picking brains to see what else is out there that will do the trick.

severnthheathen":wmk50dfp said:
Thanks guys, I have earmarked the nutted R559's as a possible solution (a good dual pivot brake by all account and not overly expensive). But I was wondering if there was anything with a bit more retro feel that folk were using. It looks like the Mafacs (Racer??) might be a possibility; I also like the look of the Weinmann long drop centre pulls. I'm picking brains to see what else is out there that will do the trick.

What reach do you need?