Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Thu Dec 08, 2016 3:49 pm

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Oct 07, 2013 12:29 pm 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:17 am
Posts: 1303
Location: Lewes, East Sussex
Hi guys

I am trying to set up my Razesa with a Dura Ace 8 speed group. I have what I think is the right block at back on DA Hubs but I can't seem to get it anywhere shifting right. First click of shifter doesn't appear to do anything and getting into the big ring at back is proving a pain.. I know all the problems with DA 8 Speed so before I just sell it all any ideas..?? Help. Advice?

Knew I should just stick with the totally unproblematic 105 :facepalm:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 07, 2013 2:28 pm 
Road Moderator
Road Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2009 1:07 pm
Posts: 4715
Location: Sheppey, Kent
There are two methods of routing the cable you have chosen the correct one for the set up haven't you? (you'll have to Google it I'm afraid)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2013 7:50 pm 
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 5:17 pm
Posts: 3775
Location: Norn Iron
I am currently trying to purchase an 8sp hub, The one i am looking at is a 7403 Hyperglide. I have read a bit about this and i think that you need the right cassette spacing for the DA stuff to work - it might be 3mm and all the other cassette spacing is different (i think there are two other widths). That may be your problem.

Richard


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2013 7:56 pm 
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 5:17 pm
Posts: 3775
Location: Norn Iron
here are the links -

http://sheldonbrown.com/dura-ace.html

http://sheldonbrown.com/k7.html

I am interested to see if you get this sorted.

Richard


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2013 9:50 am 
Gold Trader
Gold Trader
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 11:40 am
Posts: 3000
any 8s cassette will work - it's only the shift lever and rear mech that must be matched.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2013 10:09 am 
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 5:17 pm
Posts: 3775
Location: Norn Iron
Andy,

Thanks - have you any spare?

Richard


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: retrotrack and 35 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group