Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Tue Dec 06, 2016 11:46 am

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 104 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 11  Next
PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2013 4:30 pm 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider

At the request of another forum member and with an OK from Tel, I am starting this thread to pass on what little I know about these machines. I am by no means an expert, I just use one to record stuff, but with any luck, other users will post their experiences.

To explain; I started riding road bikes for the first time ever just under a year ago. I have ridden mtb's for a little over 20 years and been a Martial Artist for longer, so 'training' has been a part of my life for a long time.

So, once I began training on my road bike it became clear I needed to know if I was progressing and by how much, otherwise the effort may well have been wasted. I used a HRM (heart rate monitor) on the turbo when recovering from a dislocated shoulder, and as my son is already a very experienced and dedicated road rider, I sought his advice.

First off, I (you) needed to decide what data I was recording, that sort of dictates what device you buy. For instance, my daughter just records the route, the speeds, height gains and descents. This is all done on a downloaded app (short for application) on her iPhone. I am sure there are lots of similar apps for lots of different types of phones, and I'm hoping that users will add their knowledge and experiences to this thread.

In my case I don't 'do' phones. I have one for work and another for when I'm out on my own and that's that, so I wanted some sort of GPS.