New to cycling - is this wheel noise normal?

phospho

Dirt Disciple
Well I recently got a new bike, and today I started to notice the wheel noise from my front wheel. It seems to be coming from the hub, if I take the wheel from the bike and spin only the axle on the hub the noise appears. The rear wheel, I'm not sure - I think that sounds normal.

I've attached a video recording both of these noises.

Is it safe to ride? Should I get a new wheel(s)? My bike shop will charge me a lot for these repairs as I'm not very experienced and I'm sure they'd take advantage!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4TyBuBiJ ... e=youtu.be

is anything catching the spokes? if not rebuild as see if a bearings broken, ps rear wheel looks buckled to me

I've checked all the spokes and I'm sure it's coming from the front hub. I am not sure about the rear wheel, it rides fine for me... I just want to know if it's safe to ride, as that's all I really care about at the end of the day.

is it a brand new bike? if so take it back get them to sort it, if not its hard to say if its safe without looking at it, not to good with things unless i can see it with my own eyes ect, is there play in the bearigs if you try to wobble the wheel side to side

benjy":317yk1dd said:
is it a brand new bike? if so take it back get them to sort it, if not its hard to say if its safe without looking at it, not to good with things unless i can see it with my own eyes ect, is there play in the bearigs if you try to wobble the wheel side to side
No I bought it from ebay. I contacted the seller about the front wheel hub and he told me he'd send me out a new wheel Monday, however if the back wheel has a problem also I will just return the bicycle to the seller, as I don't want any hassle.

What do you mean by "play" in the bearings?