Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Sun Dec 11, 2016 7:13 am

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ

PostPosted: Sat Aug 31, 2013 10:28 pm 
Dirt Disciple

Well I recently got a new bike, and today I started to notice the wheel noise from my front wheel. It seems to be coming from the hub, if I take the wheel from the bike and spin only the axle on the hub the noise appears. The rear wheel, I'm not sure - I think that sounds normal.

I've attached a video recording both of these noises.

Is it safe to ride? Should I get a new wheel(s)? My bike shop will charge me a lot for these repairs as I'm not very experienced and I'm sure they'd take advantage!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4TyBuBiJ ... e=youtu.be

PostPosted: Sat Aug 31, 2013 10:34 pm 
Retro Guru

is anything catching the spokes? if not rebuild as see if a bearings broken, ps rear wheel looks buckled to me

PostPosted: Sat Aug 31, 2013 10:35 pm 
Retro Guru

oh allso check the spokes to see if any are loose or broken

PostPosted: Sat Aug 31, 2013 10:37 pm 
Dirt Disciple

I've checked all the spokes and I'm sure it's coming from the front hub. I am not sure about the rear wheel, it rides fine for me... I just want to know if it's safe to ride, as that's all I really care about at the end of the day.

PostPosted: Sat Aug 31, 2013 10:41 pm 
Retro Guru

is it a brand new bike? if so take it back get them to sort it, if not its hard to say if its safe without looking at it, not to good with things unless i can see it with my own eyes ect, is there play in the bearigs if you try to wobble the wheel side to side

PostPosted: Sat Aug 31, 2013 10:43 pm 
Dirt Disciple

benjy wrote:
is it a brand new bike? if so take it back get them to sort it, if not its hard to say if its safe without looking at it, not to good with things unless i can see it with my own eyes ect, is there play in the bearigs if you try to wobble the wheel side to side