Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Tue Dec 06, 2016 2:03 am

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2013 1:39 pm 
Dirt Disciple
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 12:48 pm
Posts: 31
Location: South East UK
Hello,

I've just finished rebuilding an OLMO which uses Campagnolo xenon shifters & a mirage rear mech (not sure of front mech, bur it's Campagnolo) using an 8 speed block. generally the system seems to work, possibly requiring some tweaking. I have some questions, which may seem a bit dumb, bit I've never had STI shifters before, all my other bikes use downtube shifters.

Questions:-

1.When I apply the brakes, the shifter levers move back towards the bars, but when I release the brakes they stay close to the bars. I'm guessing they should spring back with the brake levers. Is there something that I haven't assembled correctly, & if so what is the solution ?

2. Since the rear mech and levers seem to indicate that they are for 9 speed blocks, can I change the block for a 9 speed block. I'm guessing that maybe the mech is shut down to 8 on the stops ? Does this seem like something that is just a case of swapping the blocks over ? I was sitting next to someone on a plane last night who said he thought the early 8/9 speed blocks were interchangeable

3. I think I read somewhere that there are 2 types of spline for the older Campagnolo blocks. When I look at buying a 9 speed block there is never any information about this. I'm wary of buying a block that is incompatible with the hobs I have.

Thanks in advance


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2013 4:07 pm 
Old School Hero

Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 9:55 am
Posts: 186
Location: London
1. Not sure.

2/3. Unfortunately for you Campagnolo 8 speed hubs won't work with 9/10 speed cassettes. You'll have to change wheels, or shifters.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2013 4:27 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 5:21 pm
Posts: 589
This page will help you determine which hub you have.

From what they write, it seems that you can downgrade, but not upgrade.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 8:03 am 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 5:21 pm
Posts: 589
Oh and 1): just needs a clean and lube.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group