Brake reach problem

Flandria

Retro Guru
Hello everyone,

I'm upgrading this bike to a more or less complete campy gran sport group: http://www.retrobike.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=238076&hilit=flandria. Everything is fitting well, I just have a problem with the rear brake reach. The gran sport caliper doesn't reaches the rim, it's short of +/- 1cm. I need a minimum reach of 59mm... So I have some options to solve the problem:

Constraint: it's not a topquality bike and I'm a student so extremely low on funds. So looking for an affordable but decent solution :)

-keep the universal super 68 caliper on the rear: this one has a reach of 64mm. Not the preferred option of course, since I want it to be campagnolo :).

-buy a drop bolt like these: http://velobase.com/ViewComponent.aspx?id=bbcbb211-1445-4dfd-bba2-9d3709410cd0. Also not a prefered option since they ask ridiculous prices for these bolts ($70 what :facepalm: )

-fix a DIY-dropbolt (any ideas?). This is what I was thinking about: a bended piece of aluminium that is fixed on the brake bridge and 'lowers' the hole....

1zpilfp.jpg

-find/buy a campagnolo record rear brake caliper, since they have a bigger reach. I've found there are two versions:
- the standard reach calipers with a range of 50-65mm: they'll fit for sure. Link: http://velobase.com/ViewComponent.aspx?ID=9667bfaa-8c76-4b63-82d7-2087a9b4ebca
- the short reach calipers with a range of 45-60mm: http://velobase.com/ViewComponent.aspx?ID=2e83607d-e755-4d41-8fc9-8532c7c25b90. I have these on another bike, and measured them myself. I measured the max reach as 58~59 mm, so they'll be more or less ok. If it's not enough, is it possible to drill the holes for the brake pads a bit so there's a little bit more space?

I prefer the last option... Maybe it's possible to find just the brake arms and fit these on my gran sport axle? Anyone has an old wrecked record caliper with intact arms? Don't need NOS or spic and span quality at all :)