Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Sat Dec 03, 2016 3:02 pm

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2013 9:25 am 
Dirt Disciple

Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 3:36 pm
Posts: 21
Firstly, I'm not sure if this post is in the right place.

I've stripped down and fully cleaned a Sturmey Archer AW 3 speed hub (1990). Its in a good condition, nothing looks 'worn'. I've replaced the pawl springs and the bearings. I've greased the bearings and re-oiled the lot. The shifter cable (inner and outer) is new and the twist grip shifter works well.

When fitted, I can only get two gears to engage, even with the adjuster indicator chain separated from the shifter cable, as to rule out any adjustment problems.

Following extensive indicator chain/spindle the two gears work well, shifting reliably with out slipping at any point.

There is no third gear to be found, at any position of the indicator spindle.

Can anyone suggest a cause or something that needs further adjustment?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2013 10:53 am 
rBoTM Winner
rBoTM Winner
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 12:03 am
Posts: 395
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne
iamrcb wrote:
Firstly, I'm not sure if this post is in the right place.

I've stripped down and fully cleaned a Sturmey Archer AW 3 speed hub (1990). Its in a good condition, nothing looks 'worn'. I've replaced the pawl springs and the bearings. I've greased the bearings and re-oiled the lot. The shifter cable (inner and outer) is new and the twist grip shifter works well.

When fitted, I can only get two gears to engage, even with the adjuster indicator chain separated from the shifter cable, as to rule out any adjustment problems.

Following extensive indicator chain/spindle the two gears work well, shifting reliably with out slipping at any point.

There is no third gear to be found, at any position of the indicator spindle.

Can anyone suggest a cause or something that needs further adjustment?

Thanks


Hi

Was there 3 gears engaging before you stripped this down or is this a hub you haven't used before. I know you have said that even without the linkage attached, you can't seem to get 3 gears, but what method of initial setup are you using?

With the trigger/grip set to gear 2, you should adjust the toggle chain linkage so that the shoulder of the main shaft of the toggle chain is in line with the edge of the hub axle when viewed through the hold in the axle nut.

What guide did you use when stripping the hub - does the guide you have used show that you have all internal/external parts in the correct order?

Cheers
Neil


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2013 7:16 pm 
Dirt Disciple

Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 3:36 pm
Posts: 21
The gears were completely out of adjustment when I got it. The bike had not been used for at least a few years.

I used this guide and took note of all the part positions when dismantling so I could put it back together again.


http://bicyclehub.co.uk/index.php?optio ... Itemid=121


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 11:55 pm 
Dirt Disciple

Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 3:36 pm
Posts: 21
I've rebuilt the whole hub again and can still only find 2 gears.

I suspect that the indicator spindle is either not coming out of the end of the axle as far as it should or not retracting back in far enough. It feels like there's another gear to go beyond what I can find now.

How do I identify second gear, to help me determine which gear I'm missing? Do I have 2+3 or do I have 1+2?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2013 12:24 am 
Dirt Disciple

Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 3:36 pm
Posts: 21
Stripped and checked everything again and I can still only get two gears.

If I can be confident that there's no slippage when riding then I'll have to leave this project as it is. It's still a vast improvement on when I bought it for 44 quid and is another interesting ride.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2013 10:12 am 
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 5:17 pm
Posts: 3775
Location: Norn Iron
There is a thread here from Tel who had probs similar to this i think - have a look for it - there may be info there. If i find it i will edit here.

Edited link - viewtopic.php?f=12&t=246805

might help, maybe not.


Richard


Last edited by TGR on Sat Mar 23, 2013 12:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2013 10:49 am 
Gold Trader
Gold Trader
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 1:29 pm
Posts: 10798
Location: Manchester, UK
Try http://www.oldbiketrader.co.uk/

helped with mine a lot


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2013 1:18 pm 
Dirt Disciple

Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 8:59 pm
Posts: 25
Location: Great Grimsby
3rd gear should be direct drive without the cable attached.
Iam no expert but I use this method when setting up.
Screw the indicator chain in fully to the axle, then 1/4 turn off.
Remove the gear cable from the indicator, put it into 2nd gear on the shifter.
Reconnect the gear cable to the indicator again, so it just attaches, it should be in 3rd gear in the hub, but 2nd on the shifter.
Whilst pedalling the bike (on a workstand or hung from somewhere) turn the gear cable adjuster till it changes up to 2nd gear,
and add an extra 1/2 turn.
Try for 1st and see what you've got.
T.B.H I don't like grip shift mech, ive got 1 but prefer a trigger shifter.
See if that helps
Jim


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2013 1:46 pm 
Dirt Disciple

Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 3:36 pm
Posts: 21
Thanks I'll try that method tonight.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2013 3:38 pm 
Dirt Disciple

Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 3:36 pm
Posts: 21
Here's what I find:

Gear cable removed to rule out shifter or cable problems.

Pedal the bike and pull chain out as far as it goes. The pedals freewheel.

Let it go in by half a chain link and it finds a gear and turns the wheel

Then let the chain in by a link length and it freewheels again

Let it in another half link and it finds another gear.

Then the chain will not go in any more.

So which gear am I missing and would could be preventing the chain to be pulled out more or preventing it retracting in some more?

Or is it missing the middle gear?

The range of the spindle/chain movement, fully in to fully out is 11mm


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Montello, restlessnative and 22 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group