Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Sun Dec 11, 2016 3:28 pm

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2013 9:48 am 
Section Moderator & South West AEC
Section Moderator & South West AEC
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 3:33 pm
Posts: 8171
Location: new forest
yeah bit of a mess there set up wise judging by those pics.

echoing most of the previous comments, get the outer cage parallel with the chainrings, drop it down abit, get the lower part of the cage back on.

then put the rear gears into 1st gear, then adjust the inner adjustment screw so that the inner plate only just misses the chain, then hook up the cable, then change down a couple of gears at the back and start setting up the change to top ring, at this point the only thing to adjust will be the outer limit screw, it needs to be opened up enough to get the top ring without rubbing in top gear but not so far as to hit the inside of the crank arm, if the mech is parallel to the rings this shouldn't be an issue.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2013 12:37 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 5:21 pm
Posts: 589
I find the Park Tools Blog useful.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2013 12:43 pm 
rBoTM Winner
rBoTM Winner

Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 11:54 am
Posts: 1063
Location: Derby
I always run the cage about 1 mm above the chain.


Last edited by bagpuss on Sun Feb 17, 2013 2:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2013 1:54 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 9:10 pm
Posts: 669
I concur that your cage is way off kilter, and a few mm too far up the seat tube. I'm trying to work out if that crooked cage is your way of attempting a front gear change, or the reason you can't change? Yes, get it parallel to the rings and loosen the stop-screws and work from there. If it doesn't shift like that, IMO you won't achieve anything by angling the cage as you have..

That's one thing about the double-pointed design of the front clamp of the old Campag. front changers.. you thought it was just decoration, but it was functional decoration in that it looked wrong if it wasn't centred on the seat-tube. If it was centred, the cage would be in alignment... or damn close, anyway..

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2013 2:15 pm 
Dirt Disciple

Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 4:53 pm
Posts: 33
Location: Leicester
So I finally got it to work! Thanks guys I know you guys could see all the problems but this is my first time building up a bike. I had to take the spacers out the FD cage to make it narrower as you can see per picture but it runs fine now with about 1mm clearance from the crank and I set the Limit screw on the FD so it won't hit the crank. But yeah here is what my bike looks like so far guys


Attachments:
image.jpg
image.jpg [ 251.48 KiB | Viewed 67 times ]
image.jpg
image.jpg [ 207.65 KiB | Viewed 67 times ]
image.jpg
image.jpg [ 175.65 KiB | Viewed 67 times ]
image.jpg
image.jpg [ 141.69 KiB | Viewed 67 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2013 2:35 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 9:10 pm
Posts: 669
Ah good.. you may need some spacer, or that bolt will work loose... Got a bit of chain? try using one of the rollers as a spacer. Looks like it'll be about the right width.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2013 2:40 pm 
Dirt Disciple

Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 4:53 pm
Posts: 33
Location: Leicester
Yeah I though that. I will have a look for somthing I can use as a spacer. Just glad I got it all sorted. Need a new free wheel now and wheels


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2013 2:43 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 5:21 pm
Posts: 589
I'm glad you've got it to work, but your bodge may be masking other problems: obviously something is still not right if you have to close the derailleur cage up to get it to work.

It's hard to tell from the photos, but your chainrings look to be too far out from the frame: what is the chainline?

EDIT
Looking at the third photo you posted on the first page, the chainring does look to be too far out: there should only be a couple of mm between the inner ring and the chainstay and no more than 1cm or so between the outer and the chainstay.


Last edited by ScillySuffolk on Sun Feb 17, 2013 2:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2013 2:47 pm 
Dirt Disciple

Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 4:53 pm
Posts: 33
Location: Leicester
That was my first though aswell, that is was out to far but it's defiantly the right bb for the crank. I sticks out about 2mm more than my old crank and bb did but dont know how to get it in any ferther. Chain line looks fairly good though. Any suggestions how to get the crank in abit more?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2013 2:49 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 5:21 pm
Posts: 589
Sorry I meant the chainline measured from the centre of the seat tube to in between the two chainrings: 42mm is normal.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cromoman, Little Al, mpatts and 30 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group