rust and paint - what would you do?

steven3ver

Retro Newbie
I am a bit in two minds. My Ribble bike has some rusty patches near the seat post, on the top tube and bottom bracket (see pictures). A complete repaint would be the most rigorous option, doing nothing the least (but not preferred)...

I was wondering if there were in-between alternatives that others have pursued, or what advice more the experienced/knowledgeable on this forum would have.
So... needless to say, I am a novice when it comes to all this.... Any advice is welcome!

Attachments

• IMG_0510_med.jpg
    IMG_0510_med.jpg
    51.9 KB · Views: 323
  • IMG_0516.jpg
    IMG_0516.jpg
    40.5 KB · Views: 323
  • IMG_0515.jpg
    IMG_0515.jpg
    48.5 KB · Views: 323
I think it's at the stage of a shot blast and respray or powder coat, my neighbour has just had one of his metalic powder coated in blue and looks great.

I have a frame that has a slightly ropey seat stay. It looks like it was chipped and then hand painted. I took the frame to a paint shop and had them match the colour. They then put the paint in a spray tin. Once the weather gets warmer, I will strip and reprime and then spray. I know it won't be a hard as a proper spray but, it also only cost £12.

I would say you at least need to get that rust off. Once off, coat the area in Krust or similar. I would experiment with the area under the BB. If its a disaster, nobody will really see it and you can get it done properly after winter.

Here's a list of what I would need to touch up a frame:

Stiff wire brush to remove rust
Anti-rust product (optional)
Wet or dry paper
Primer (those little tins of Humbrol will do)
Paint (ditto)
Paint brush
Thinners/brush cleaner
T-cut
Time and patience