Paris Roubaix tyres?

Tazio

MacRetro Rider
Feedback
View
What size tyres do they use on Paris Roubaix?

Since I started riding a road bike again there are a lot of cobbles on my daily ride and it is shaking me to bits and feels like it is trashing my bike. I have 23mm on and I was just wondering if they go to a much heftier tyre for Roubaix.

To start with they will be using tubs. Secondly a decent ride, what the team normally uses and what stays inflated will be the priority. Comfort will be dealt with by double bar tape.
Some teams use differnt bikes. Tyres maybe be changed but rider comfort via them is not a big concern. Why not go to 25mm or bigger. You will loose nothing and gain comfort and efficiency. 25mm's roll better.
A decent, high spec 28 would be my choice.

If you've got room in terms of clearances you could even try cyclocross
tyres, depends on your frame and the brakes you've got. It does make
a big difference to the comfort, feels completely different from normal
road tyres.
I put some cross tyres on an old steel frame for someone who's doing
L'Eroica. Looked a bit odd but still fitted the frame fine.

Johnny

Johnsqual":3ndcn0sg said:
If you've got room in terms of clearances you could even try cyclocross
tyres, depends on your frame and the brakes you've got. It does make
a big difference to the comfort, feels completely different from normal
road tyres.
I put some cross tyres on an old steel frame for someone who's doing
L'Eroica. Looked a bit odd but still fitted the frame fine.

Johnny
Not a bad choice I think ;)

PROs use 27 mm tubulars, typically made by Belgian and French artisans (Dugast and that other one whose name I can't recall), some use the Vittoria pave 27 (not many). Pressure is 65-85 PSI... Boonen uses unusually low tyre pressure 60-65 PSI.
Nobody uses clinchers, if you are on clinchers, I recommend 25 mm for short easy section and 27-28 for real long shakers Paris-Roubaix style. 90 PSI, with clinchers you can't get much lower