Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Sun Dec 11, 2016 10:56 am

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Thinking about STI's...
PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 3:27 pm 
Devout Dirtbag

Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 5:01 pm
Posts: 136
Location: Blackheath, London
I'm thinking about running STI's. I've currently got a 6 speed shimano 600 set up.

My rear hub is a FH-6207. Could I put a 7 speed cassette on it and use a 7 speed STI shifter?

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 7:46 pm 
Road Moderator
Road Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2009 1:07 pm
Posts: 4715
Location: Sheppey, Kent
Probably not. Your 6 speed hubs are likely to be uniglide meaning that a 7 speed hyperglide cassette will not simply slip on. You'd need to change the feehub body to accept the uniglide cassette. You'd then have to source some fairly scarce 7 speed STI's.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 7:48 pm 
Gold Trader
Gold Trader
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 1:29 pm
Posts: 10798
Location: Manchester, UK
What Tel said but 8 speed STIs will also shift 7 speed, you just have one click that does nothing on the rear shifter


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 7:49 pm 
Road Moderator
Road Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2009 1:07 pm
Posts: 4715
Location: Sheppey, Kent
Aren't they spaced differently?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 7:58 pm 
Gold Trader
Gold Trader
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 1:29 pm
Posts: 10798
Location: Manchester, UK
Tel wrote:
Aren't they spaced differently?


as I recall 7 and 8 are same spacing, it's just the extra cog and space makes the 8 speed 4.5mm wider??????????

pretty sure this is correct given that loads of people sell 7 speed thumbies with the line 'with hidden 8th click'


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2012 11:55 am 
Retro Guru

Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 9:19 am
Posts: 2098
Location: Sheffield, top city
7 spd is 5mm, 8 is 4.5 so its different.

if you can get some campag 8 speed ergos, they will work straight off with your 6 spd back end. I know, I used this for years


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2012 11:57 am 
Gold Trader
Gold Trader
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 1:29 pm
Posts: 10798
Location: Manchester, UK
pigman wrote:
7 spd is 5mm, 8 is 4.5 so its different.

if you can get some campag 8 speed ergos, they will work straight off with your 6 spd back end. I know, I used this for years


I stand corrected, but it does work - Sheldon said! :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2012 1:05 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2011 7:15 pm
Posts: 337
Location: Northampton
currently running 7speed shimano levers with campag 8.......


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2012 4:13 pm 
Retro Guru

Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 9:19 am
Posts: 2098
Location: Sheffield, top city
I've seen many combinations of stuff work "successfully". Like sellers' perception of "immaculate Condition" in the classifieds, it depends on the individual on what works "successfully". This is what chris Juden, the CTC's technical guy has to say about it.
it would seem that almost anything will "index perfectly" with anything vaguely similar! But some people have rather a low definition of "perfect" and all indexed gear systems have an allowance for wear and tear that may allow disparate components to rub along okay, when they are new. Just don't expect them to keep it up very long.
by all means give it a go if someone has experience of something, but keep an open mind in view of how fussy you know yourself to be with all things mechanical


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2012 7:10 pm 
rider | rBoTM Winner
rider | rBoTM Winner
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 1:42 pm
Posts: 5133
Location: Wakefield, Yorkshire
I'm using 8 speed MTB STI (under bar double lever type) units on a 7 speed cassette on my Dynatech MTB and it works fine. I'm assuming that the road ones are the same spacings as MTB etc. as I've interchanged between the two often.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bagpuss, Jamiedyer, keithglos, mr_gumby, Yahoo [Bot] and 33 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group