Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Thu Dec 08, 2016 1:13 pm

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2012 6:33 am 
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 12:48 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Ronda/Newcastle Upon Tyne/ Hoedspruit
Hi all.
Can anyone tell me if it is possible to fit either a Shimano or Campagnolo cassette to a Mavic Cosmic Pro hub. (see pictures)

I have a brand new set of these wheels which are gathering dust and would love to put them to use on either a Campag Chorus or Campag Athena 8 speed setup.

Thanks in advance for any help.

All the best.

Dave.


Attachments:
Mavic wheel 3.jpg
Mavic wheel 3.jpg [ 129.73 KiB | Viewed 2108 times ]
Mavic wheel 2.jpg
Mavic wheel 2.jpg [ 141.43 KiB | Viewed 2108 times ]
Mavic wheel 1.jpg
Mavic wheel 1.jpg [ 175.65 KiB | Viewed 2108 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2012 12:53 pm 
Retro Guru

Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 12:12 am
Posts: 1513
Location: Gold Coast Australia
It looks like a hyperglide shimano spline to me but early campag (8 & 9 speed) looked similar I think ?

from Sheldon Browns site • Campagnolo: not very compatible
Campagnolo 8-speed cassettes used a slightly different spline pattern from the current pattern used for 9-and 10-speed systems.
8-speed Campagnolo cassettes will not fit on newer "9-speed" and "10-speed" hubs.

9- and 10-speed Campagnolo cassettes will not fit on 8-speed hubs.

It is theoretically possible to upgrade Campagnolo 8-speed hubs with newer cassette bodies, but in practice the parts don't generally seem to be available.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2012 9:02 pm 
Devout Dirtbag
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 8:03 pm
Posts: 145
Location: between here and there
It looks more like Campag 8 to me.
All the splines look pretty equal in size.

Its def not Campag 9-10, and i think some of the later 8 is different again, but i'm no expert.

One eyed jim might be worth a PM to confirm...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2012 11:32 pm 
Retro Guru

Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 12:12 am
Posts: 1513
Location: Gold Coast Australia
I agree they are all equal so campag 8 it should be , now just get hold of a cassette for a test fit before purchase ! Knowing the even poorer availability of older mavic parts in my country it will be near impossible to get any other freehub body!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2012 6:38 am 
Gold Trader
Gold Trader
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 11:19 pm
Posts: 7006
Location: Odense, Denmark
I used to have a pair of these. It's campag 8.

Won't run anything else - but Campag 8, Sachs and Dura-Ace 8 spacing was the same so will run on plenty of mid-90s configurations.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2012 6:55 am 
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 12:48 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Ronda/Newcastle Upon Tyne/ Hoedspruit
I bought a new Campag 8 speed loose cog cassette recently.
Unfortunately it won't fit on the Mavic hub. (the hub dia is quite a bit larger than the hole in the cassette).

Are there different types of Campagnolo 8 speed cassettes available?. I'm thinking maybe the older type were different with a larger dia. Would that be right?.

(The splines on the Mavic hub are definitely all equal in size).

Thanks for all the help so far.

Dave.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2012 8:42 am 
Gold Trader
Gold Trader
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 11:19 pm
Posts: 7006
Location: Odense, Denmark
If you bought an 8-speed Titanium cassette it'll have 9-speed splines which are deeper.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2012 10:53 am 
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 12:21 pm
Posts: 5785
Location: Lost in Translation
For reference, here's a good summary of the various spline patterns used by Campag:

http://branfordbike.com/articles/casset ... s-pg60.htm

As you can see, your freehub body is the original 8-speed type.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2012 11:01 am 
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 12:48 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Ronda/Newcastle Upon Tyne/ Hoedspruit
OE Jim.....
Thanks for the link.
That definitely confirms that the hub is compatible with the original Campag 8 speed type cassette.

Does anybody know if these are still available, and if so what would be a good place to source one?.


Dave.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group