crank & bb advice for single speed bike

danh86

Dirt Disciple
Hi all,

I recently brought a frame and forks of eBay with the hope of building this up as a fixed gear bike - this is my first time building a bike from scratch and I figured it would give me more of an understanding of chainlines etc. and try and get it looking just as I want.

The frame has 120mm-spaced track end forks and came with a miche square taper bottom bracket with english threads - as best as I can make out, the spindle is 107mm long.

I read the Sheldon Brown article on chainlines and interchanging JIS and ISO cranks on an ISO BB but I can't figure out whether I should try to find cranks to fit the bottom bracket or vice versa - in terms of what I'm after, I like the look of Campagnolo Record cranks and would try to find a second hand set of these - would something like that work ok??

Thanks,
Dan

Looking at the spindle length I guess that would fit a campag pista. IIRC the pista has an equal length and the strada was unequal and 112mm.

Dredging up some old memories but seems to ring a bell.

Shaun

thanks for the reply, the pista range of cranks look great but they're out of my price range - my hope was to find a Campagnolo double chainset and change this to single speed which I believe is possible(?)

If I do find some ISO cranks is it feasible to use longer bolts and washers to align the chainring correctly?

It's possible to grind off the inner shoulder and modify the bolts to fit........bit of a shame though.

Nope, the distance that the cranks sit away from the bottom bracket is set by the length of the spindle, you have to change the spindle and it's nothing to do with bolts and washers.

Am I thinking of the right era? Any pics?

Cheers

Shaun

Yes you can! Just move the chainring with spacer/washers as you need. Fiddly though.,