Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Sat Dec 03, 2016 11:03 am

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2012 9:59 pm 
Retro Guru

Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 12:59 pm
Posts: 349
Location: Chez Vegas, Derbyshire
scottmac wrote:
Remember to turn your Garmin/whatever off/on ½ a mile away from your door as it leads potential scum to your bike collection. :evil:


You can tweek the settings so that it does not show your route within a certain distance of the start / finish. First thing I did.

Anybody else noticed that the figures that are on your GPS do not match up with those on Strava ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2012 8:57 am 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 2:03 pm
Posts: 699
Location: Lincoln
vivelesalpes wrote:

You can tweek the settings so that it does not show your route within a certain distance of the start / finish. First thing I did.



It's also worth putting in a few postcodes near you set at different distances, that way there is no odvious centre point if you go off in all directions from your home.

I have also noted that things like the calorie usage figures are different on the Garmin and Strava, but put that down to different ways it is calculated.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2012 11:22 am 
Gold Trader
Gold Trader
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 11:40 am
Posts: 2997
I just tried strava yesterday with my htc in my back pocket. I quite like it - accuracy seems very high. But is there any way to make my profile completely private? from what I can see, a profile can be seen by anyone on strava at the very least, and while it's possible to set an invisible zones (to avoid giving away your exact home location, for example), don't these then remove some distance from the rides? What I want is to make my information and rides available only to me, no-one else. is this possible? what about on the garmin site (i hope to get a garmin sometime soon)

Andy


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2012 12:29 pm 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider

Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 3:44 pm
Posts: 1508
Location: Leeds
I've hidden my name, just used paininthe but you have to put something in surname. You can make all your rides private. You can make your home location to be hidden up to a mile radius. It is as secret as you wish. I hide all my commutes, otherwise it can clutter groups up eg- Retrobikes

The most fun comes with the challenge. I've just lost my KOM to some one. Out in an hour to try and get it back. I've never raced or time trialled but this seems the closest to it.

On one of my regular run outs I can have 5 or 6 different timed sections to challenge my self against. I do not have to show folks how good or bad I am.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 12:06 am 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 2:32 pm
Posts: 291
Location: Sunny tranquil Stockport
Horribly addictive thing this... I'm using endomondo on my windows phone to create the gpx files that I then upload into Straca... I have then segmented my entire commute into (and out of) Manchester in bite size inter-traffic light chunks. I now see every little stretch as another 'race'... you can even race one, then rest one to get your breath back... on the back of this now thinking of joining a cycling club...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 6:35 am 
Devout Dirtbag

Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 8:15 pm
Posts: 106
Location: dronfield
it has very quickly become my route tracker of choice.i love the league tables and the fact that when i know there is a segment ahead it makes me push that little bit harder.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 7:30 pm 
Retro Guru

Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 12:59 pm
Posts: 349
Location: Chez Vegas, Derbyshire
One of the lads from the cycling club I'm in has written the following website to analyse your Strava results: http://veloviewer.com/

It makes Strava even more addictive !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 9:31 pm 
Retrobike Sponsor
Retrobike Sponsor
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 10:33 pm
Posts: 2192
Location: Suffolk
Don't own a garmin. I don't get it really.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 10:35 pm 
West Midlands AEC
West Midlands AEC
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 11:06 pm
Posts: 6266
Location: Stow on the Wold, Glos
Just joined strava , Normally just upload to mapmyride

Quite addictive just passed an hour!! :shock:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 11:32 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 2:32 pm
Posts: 291
Location: Sunny tranquil Stockport
bm0p700f wrote:
Don't own a garmin. I don't get it really.


You just need a phone with gps function... (and the downloaded Strava App) then wherever you ride, if someone's done that route, or any part of it before, you can compare your times... becomes quite addictive, trying to be the fastest person on a particular segment (known as the KOM)... I'd avoid it if I were you - dangerously addictive!!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bobgfish and 25 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group