Can anyone help me to identify this Falcon frame?

Hallsy

Devout Dirtbag
Hi guys, newbie here :D

I'm looking to build up a reasonably cheap singlespeed bike, just for something different to commute on, do a bit of road riding, etc (I'm a modern MTB man usually).

Been looking around and found a bike locally that will need a few new bits & paint, but could be a good bet, just don't really know anything about the frame.

I can see that it's a Falcon, and from my limited knowledge, looks more like a tourer frame than racer frame?

Can anyone identify it from these pictures?

photo (2) by Hallsy01, on Flickr

photo (1) by Hallsy01, on Flickr

photo (5) by Hallsy01, on Flickr

I must confess, Falcon is not a name I have come across whilst looking around (had been looking at Raleigh, Peugeot, Holdsworth, Carlton - or similar). Were they any good back in the day, any idea on tubing type?

Just wondering if it will be worth a punt or better avoided!

Any help appreciated :)

Falcon is a very well known brand, surprised you've not come across them. They used to make a very wide range of bikes from top quality racing machines (ridden by there own pro team) to 'gas pipe' cheapo's. Still going but part of one of the big groups and supplying far eastern bikes wholesale.

Yours looks like a middle to low end frame (thin plate rear ends) but nice fork crown. I doubt very much if anyone would have actually raced on it but it could be built up as a 'racer' - or a 'tourer' if you prefer.

I wouldn't pay much for it, especially as it has no gears, brakes etc. Needs a bit of work to get roadworthy - but do-able all the same.

Thanks for that, I've been doing a bit of reading around and gather that falcon were a fairly solid British frame manufacturer, if mostly low to mid end.