Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Thu Dec 08, 2016 1:30 pm

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 4:13 pm 
Road Moderator
Road Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2009 1:07 pm
Posts: 4715
Location: Sheppey, Kent
I've got an old 7 speed Shimano HG cassette but some of the teeth have worn making the chain skip. Is it possible to use a nice shiny 9 speed cassette on the freehub body by removing 2 sprckets and using the 7 speed spacers?

Actually I think I have a spare 9 speed (or 8 ) I'll give it a go....and it worked.

Although straight forward I took some pics along the way anyway:


Original 7 speed:
Image

9 speed with smallest cog missing making it an 8 and useable in a 126mm OLN spacing:
Image
Image

9 speed SRAM cassette with Shimano 7 speed spacers and 2 cogs removed:
Image

Only modification I had to make was cutting the lugs of the Shimano spacers:
Image

And obviously I could not reuse the bolt that held the 9 speed cassette as it was too long, so just fitted without.

Few more pictures here: http://s597.photobucket.com/albums/tt55 ... %20to%207/

But as I said very straight forward.


Last edited by Tel on Thu Mar 24, 2011 8:30 am, edited 4 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 4:15 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 4:23 pm
Posts: 2596
Location: leicester
in a word-no.

unless you buy a new freehub body...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 4:29 pm 
Road Moderator
Road Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2009 1:07 pm
Posts: 4715
Location: Sheppey, Kent
:( why's that? Different spline spacings?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 4:43 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 4:23 pm
Posts: 2596
Location: leicester
http://www.sheldonbrown.com/k7.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 4:52 pm 
Road Moderator
Road Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2009 1:07 pm
Posts: 4715
Location: Sheppey, Kent
You'll need to be more specific I can't actually see what you are trying to highlight.

Anyway enough of the theory.

I just tried a 9 speed Sram cassette on my old Shimano 600 Ultegra 7 speed HG freehub and it fits fine. Interstingly you can actually have 8 cogs on there and just use the lockring (i.e miss out the smallest, loose, cog). Tempted to leave it this way and gain an extra gear, although I need a 9 speed chain. So the next step will be to remove the spacers and a sprocket from the 9 speed and replace them with the 7 speed spacers from the Shimano which in theory will give me a nice new, widely available, 7 speed cassette.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 5:01 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 4:23 pm
Posts: 2596
Location: leicester
as long as you can dismantle the cassettes and play with the spacers you should be able to make something useable,the splines are the same. i read your first question as can i buy a 9 speed cassette and put it on a 7 speed freehub,pretty sure u cant do that..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 6:01 pm 
Road Moderator
Road Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2009 1:07 pm
Posts: 4715
Location: Sheppey, Kent
Done and done. I now have a new 7 speed SRAM cassette. Works great.

Well worth keeping in mind for future projects as I often get completely shot cassettes.

Also worth keeping in mind the 9 speed cassette used as an 8 on a 126mm OLN hub. This will mean you can have 8 speed STI set up using 9 speed kit without having to spread the drops each time.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 6:02 pm 
Road Moderator
Road Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2009 1:07 pm
Posts: 4715
Location: Sheppey, Kent
stew-b wrote:
i read your first question as can i buy a 9 speed cassette and put it on a 7 speed freehub,pretty sure u cant do that..


Stew-b please pay more attention :P


And no you can't fit an 8, 9 or 10 on a 7.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 6:21 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 4:23 pm
Posts: 2596
Location: leicester
he says after editing his first post.... :lol: :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 7:29 pm 
Road Moderator
Road Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2009 1:07 pm
Posts: 4715
Location: Sheppey, Kent
Ah yes but that was only to change:

Actually I think I have a spare 9 speed (or 8) I'll give it a go....

to

Actually I think I have a spare 9 speed (or 8 ) I'll give it a go....

You should have noticed that and that it reads the same otherwise. Keep up! :D :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cce, jm and 26 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group