Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Thu Dec 08, 2016 8:51 am

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Wheel help
PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2010 10:40 pm 
Gold Trader / PoTM Winner / RB Rider
Gold Trader / PoTM Winner / RB Rider
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:45 pm
Posts: 10944
Location: kent
Just received some lovely GP4 from lorenzo with Campagnolo record hubs and a 5 speed suntour freewheel .

I d like to run 8 speed . is it possible to change the freewheel for an 8 speed one ( will hubs be ok ) .

cheers

here they are


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2010 10:49 pm 
rider | rBoTM Winner
rider | rBoTM Winner
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 1:42 pm
Posts: 5132
Location: Wakefield, Yorkshire
If they're 120mm wide as it says then I doubt it. Not sure if you can get old style Campag axles wide enough - but someone else might know!

Now't wrong with 5 gears, when I were a lad we 'ad 3 and were still 'appy :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2010 11:04 pm 
Dirt Disciple
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 6:18 am
Posts: 63
Location: Cheddar
8 speed hubs are usually 130 mm spacing, so your hubs are probably to narrow. The 8 speed freewheel will probably put too much stress on the hub as well, seem to remember reading that axles on 8 speed hubs failed more often.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2010 8:10 am 
Gold Trader / PoTM Winner / RB Rider
Gold Trader / PoTM Winner / RB Rider
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:45 pm
Posts: 10944
Location: kent
ok thanks , will probably take the wheel apart and rebuild with some Mavic hubs .


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2010 10:00 am 
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 2:04 pm
Posts: 3364
Location: Completely in the dark, thanks to me good mate Terry....
Don't walk wrote:
8 speed hubs are usually 130 mm spacing, so your hubs are probably to narrow. The 8 speed freewheel will probably put too much stress on the hub as well, seem to remember reading that axles on 8 speed hubs failed more often.


Depends on the quality of the hub, I guess. I've used Hope and Sachs screw-on rear 8sp hubs for cyclo-cross in the past, never had any bother. If the OP is using something high-end like a Mavic 501 they should be on pretty safe ground.

David


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2010 10:03 am 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 12:24 am
Posts: 1127
Location: Surrey
FWIW, you may be able to fit a 6 or possibly even 7 speed block with just a small washer for it to clear the drive dropout and a bit of dishing towards this. Depends how much thread you have left on the spindle. Stretching the rear width on a steel frame is something that could possibly also be done.

Shame to waste such good quality hubs!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2010 11:40 am 
Gold Trader / PoTM Winner / RB Rider
Gold Trader / PoTM Winner / RB Rider
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:45 pm
Posts: 10944
Location: kent
ok , might have a try then .


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Frizzaldo, Vetus Ossa and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group