Kona Help Required Please

designer1

Old School Hero
Ok guys...

Im in the process of buying the frame shown:
BOgDNmQmkKGrHgoH-EQEjlLluvvMBJvCB8L.jpg

Is there anyone who can indeed verify that its a Kona Kula and an apporximate year?
Its apparently 1994 ish - however the rear triangle seems to differ from other Konas of that era???? Im very new to this retro scene so maybe totally wrong?

Any info on the sizes of key components would be a great help

Thankyou for all your help in advance.

[/img]

Yeah that is a help but the 94 model appears to have replaceable mech hanger - and the one pictured does'nt?????

Any experts?

The jungle decals are from much later (97 on), but as the paint under them isn't original, that doesn't tell you much. The 97 model was red, quite like the colour of the rear triangle.

Is that a bolt on disc adaptor on the frame?? Must be. The cable guides look like they are for cantis, and the cable for the front mech ran under the BB shell, so that will be a useful clue.

Anthony shoule be able to give you a good educated guess as to what and roughly when, even with the poor picture quality.

I can't really tell much from that picture, but I agree with you that it must be either 95 or 96 and it must be either an AA or a Kula. It might be a 96 because I think the 95 dropouts were slightly different, but I'm not even sure there was a difference between the 96 AA and Kula. They were both made of Easton Elite and though the catalogue says they weighed 3.5lbs and 3.4 respectively, I'd take that with a pinch of salt. Could be just a marketing ploy.