Lack of inspiration – build help required……Hei Hei

letmetalktomark

Retrobike Rider
Gold Trader
Feedback
View
Morning all,

Just before Christmas I acquired a frame that I had been lusting over for many years a Kona Hei Hei (1997).

Since picking her up she has sat in bubble wrap at my parents house (other side of the country). The thing is I’m lacking a little inspiration for building her up.

I currently have:

My Kona Caldera – long serving friend lovingly modernised – Do it all bike
My Saracen – currently set up as a road bike (slicks) – very fast + easy to ride
My GT RTS1 – Only real retroish bike – set up for fun

So what do I do with the Hei Hei?

I’d like to go the lightweight route as I think that’s what the frame deserves but that’s as far as I got…

Thoughts would be appreciated……….

If you already have a modernised do it all bike and a bike for the road why dont you do the lightweight build with nice choice bling (if you like bling) parts and keep it as a semi garage queen for dry weather use.

That's the route i'm taking with my Manitou, it's a long term project, dont really mind it sitting on the shelf (makes a nice ornament anyway :) ), and i'll wait until the right parts turn up for it.

(Hei Hei + Uninspired) = Does not compute.

Try just going out for a ride on it. You might be inspired.

When mine arrived, I immediately cannibalised one of my other Konas for parts and went on an all-day ride with mates the next day.

Some of the parts weren't great, but it didn't matter - I couldn't wait to ride it.

I got home after about 50 miles off-road noticeably less fatigued than doing the same route on the steel Kona; covered in frozen muck (me and the bike) and grinning like a fool (just me - the bike was unimpressed by my skills and had wanted to stay out longer).

Just ride it, mate.
Then sell the others.