Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Wed Dec 19, 2018 3:36 am

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2018 6:03 pm 
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 11:14 pm
Posts: 3053
Location: Leicestershire
I'm having a right old ding-dong with sorting the gearing out on one of my bikes, can anyone tell me the correct bottom bracket length to use with Topline cranks please? Thank you.


Last edited by LeeDevelopment on Fri Nov 16, 2018 2:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2018 6:07 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 8:08 am
Posts: 710
Location: Suffolk
125mm or at least that's what mine require.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2018 6:11 pm 
King of the Skip Monkeys
King of the Skip Monkeys

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 4:34 pm
Posts: 29704
Location: in the shed
I needed 127.5 on my Zaskar but 125mm as above should be good.

94bcd version might be less


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2018 6:17 pm 
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 11:14 pm
Posts: 3053
Location: Leicestershire
Thanks darlings :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2018 10:04 pm 
Old School Grand Master

Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 11:18 am
Posts: 17667
Location: near cwmcarn
it was a long time ago, but I also used 127mm.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2018 10:51 pm 
Dirt Disciple

Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2017 9:38 pm
Posts: 79
Problem is also to find a spindle with the looooong tapers to fit these Cook/CQP/Topline/Grafton cranks :x


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2018 11:01 pm 
Retro Guru

Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 2:16 pm
Posts: 820
i use a 124 mm on my steel frames


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2018 12:02 pm 
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 11:14 pm
Posts: 3053
Location: Leicestershire
I've a Royce BB fitted so have emailed Cliff about the cost of an axle swap.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2018 2:41 pm 
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 11:14 pm
Posts: 3053
Location: Leicestershire
My current axle is a 126 so that's fine (despite the crank arm ends being super-close to the chainstays) I'm having issues with granny-ring chainsuck so thought I'd space the crank further outboard for a better chain line. The rings are Shimano m900 SG-X ones. Could be a wrong-width granny ring spacer issue..... so, can anyone tell me the correct width for the granny spacers please?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2018 2:57 pm 
King of the Skip Monkeys
King of the Skip Monkeys

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 4:34 pm
Posts: 29704
Location: in the shed
They were thickies, I may still have some left. The Topline was flat so the spacers had to be thicker to get the granny ring past the middle ring.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group