Need help using a VAR Fork threading tool

alainbriot

Dirt Disciple
I bought a VAR Headset fork threading tool on ebay. I got a good deal on it, problem is I can't find out how it works. This is an older, vintage tool, however VAR is a reputable brand so it should be designed to do its job.

The tool should have an expanding screw to make the tap die wider or narrower but the screw that's in it right now has no effect. It does not widen or narrows down the die. I tried on an unthreaded fork, 1-1/8" diameter head tube, and it does not go over the tube even though it is marked 1-1/8 and 26 pitch which should be for 1 1/8 steerer tubes.

The main problem is I can't get the thread started. The tool won't go over the the steerer tube. I am getting ready to return it but it may be that I just don't know how to use it. I attached photographs. I suspect this may be rookie error. I have never used a fork threading tool so this is my first time trying to thread a fork steerer tube.

Attachments

• s-l1600-4.jpg
    s-l1600-4.jpg
    70.7 KB · Views: 460
  • 1-s-l1600.jpg
    1-s-l1600.jpg
    69.3 KB · Views: 460
  • s-l1600-2.jpg
    s-l1600-2.jpg
    57.9 KB · Views: 460
  • s-l1600-3.jpg
    s-l1600-3.jpg
    78.7 KB · Views: 459
It's been a long time since I tapped a fork thread but the one we had in the bike shop had a taper on the die leading into the threads, take the die out and see if it seats over your steerer. ?

There are quite a few frame builders that post on lfgss if nobody crops up here.

Thank you. I tried taking the die out and it is smaller than the steerer tube.

Maybe that's the way it is designed to work?

there's no way it should slip over the steerer, but getting threads started is hard (And a steerer is a BIG thread). A chromoly steerer is a tough material to start too.