Need some help on identifying this steel Stumpjumper

jorgos

Dirt Disciple
Hi there,

it has been a long time since I posted here :D . Got the retro bike virus again. Bought me a steel Stumpjumper. I hope someone here can help me identifying it. I checked a lot of sites and brochures but I haven't found 'my' bike.

What I did found out already is:

- this bike has been stripped off its original parts and was refitted with mainly basic shizzle. That will be removed ;-)
- I discovered underneath the lock mount a face forward "S", on many StumpJumpers, the "S" is on the side
- I haven't found a serial number yet, not on the BB, not underneath the cable guides on the BB, not on the rear wheel mounts. Very strange
- Besides the "S" on the front of the bike (underneath the stem) and seat tube, the Specialized and Stumpjumper decals, there are no decals on the bike.

Any help is appreciated, thanks!

Re:

Its nice, has potential for a sympathetic rebuild.

I'm by no means an expert, but my guess would be towardsd the end of steel production Stumpys - perhaps 95/96. The threaded headset would seem to suggest no later.
Based purely on the above, plus graphics and apparent lack of canti noodle.

I don't recall seeing a black one from that era before though, perhaps it was a run out or Euro spec model. I expect someone else will come along and know for sure.

Re:

Looks like a canti mount out back. I've only owned one of these so no expert, but there should be a serial number.

Not saying it is the case here, but decals are easy to come by. Maybe the lure of silver decals was an attempt to pimp the ride?

What diameter is the headset. Size will help identify a year more closely. My old one had a 1 inch headset, which put it as an early 90s one.