Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Wed Dec 07, 2016 5:40 pm

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 4:40 am 
98+ BoTM | BoTM | Gold | Rider
98+ BoTM | BoTM | Gold | Rider
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2006 12:48 am
Posts: 6657
Location: Kingdom of Ringlé
Yo..

Having trouble workin out which mech I need to shift me big rings..

I have an old Race and whilst it's plain to see it's a bottom pull, because the routing kinda pushes the cables down the front/side of the seat tube down to a pulley just above the bb, it doesn't seem to give the front mech enough room to get activated? Get me? No, I'm sure I do either..

I guess this is directed at all Pre-Trek Bontrager owners.. What mech do I need? 28.6, top swing, bottom pull?? :?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 9:51 am 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 1:10 am
Posts: 4473
Location: Bristol
You need a 28.6 top pull. The mech you have, however, is bottom pull so the pulley you see was fitted ( by the previous owner? ) as a compensator to fix this and shove the cable back up to the cable stop just beneath the seatstays at the back of the seat tube and continiue the top-route cabling standard of a Bonty.
Hope this helps.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 10:05 am 
Gold Trader / PoTM Winner / RB Rider
Gold Trader / PoTM Winner / RB Rider
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:45 pm
Posts: 10944
Location: kent
can you show pics?

On my Yeti , i have a pulley as well and I have difficulties changing geras . the front mech does not seem to move enough .


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 10:44 am 
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 3:14 pm
Posts: 13405
Location: Warwick
I have an XT top pull if you need one mate. Its in a steel size too - should be what you need.

Its the old deore xt style


Last edited by jez-4-bikes-max on Fri Sep 08, 2006 12:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 10:51 am 
Gold Trader / PoTM Winner / RB Rider
Gold Trader / PoTM Winner / RB Rider
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:45 pm
Posts: 10944
Location: kent
did Shimano ever made a micridrive version ? because that could be the reason mine wont shift as i use it with normal rings ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 12:46 pm 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 1:10 am
Posts: 4473
Location: Bristol
Chris,
no. But check your BB is 68/108 otherwise you'll get all sorts of shifting problems if it's any wider.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 1:06 pm 
Gold Trader / PoTM Winner / RB Rider
Gold Trader / PoTM Winner / RB Rider
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:45 pm
Posts: 10944
Location: kent
my BB axle is a lot longer than that . it is 120 minimum . I use a set of TNT straight cranks and even with such a long axle I nearly touch the frame .


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 09, 2006 9:40 pm 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:12 pm
Posts: 2993
Location: Northumberland
Long shot and i don't even think it should make a difference but........
Does the cable just run round the pulleyto form a U shape, or does it pass down round the pulley then across itself to the mech. It would then look like a tear drop in shape.
Probably no difference, but might be worth trying before buying mechs :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2006 1:28 am 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 1:10 am
Posts: 4473
Location: Bristol
Can you photo all this and email it to me? ( I love a challenge )


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2006 2:36 am 
98+ BoTM | BoTM | Gold | Rider
98+ BoTM | BoTM | Gold | Rider
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2006 12:48 am
Posts: 6657
Location: Kingdom of Ringlé
I've had a closer look and I reckon I can just about make the cable go down the seat tube, then around the pulley [anti-clockwise] then up to the FD armiture, but it's gunna be close.. Real close..

Were the clamps on M732 mech thinner than those on the M737?

I'll get some photos on here later today, it does seem like a kinda crazy design [one of those "3am-I-gotta-finish-this!" decisions].. :?

Agency_Scum wrote:
Chris,
no. But check your BB is 68/108 otherwise you'll get all sorts of shifting problems if it's any wider.


Doh! I think I might have a 73 on it.. The Mech does seem stretched right out there on the adjuster screws..


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: boswell, cherrybomb, gradeAfailure, Maxipedia, Spanky22b, tiboltrider and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group