Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Tue Dec 06, 2016 11:28 am

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 7:25 pm 
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 3:14 pm
Posts: 13404
Location: Warwick
Ok guys

help required!

What tips have u guys got to get these damn cables through the main body of the Trimble frame. Its much like Klein cable routing all internal...

Im about to try the thread and vacuum trick but I dont have high hopes...

Please help.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 8:05 pm 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:12 pm
Posts: 2993
Location: Northumberland
I usually resort to swearing and cursing, wondering why i bought the damn thing, that it's a useless pile of...... :evil:
None of which helps you but i know what you're going through. I normally end up trying to use gravity :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 8:52 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 4:23 pm
Posts: 2596
Location: leicester
saw it in half,thread the cables then glue it back together :D
sorry,ot very helpful :oops:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 8:53 pm 
Gold Trader / PoTM Winner / RB Rider
Gold Trader / PoTM Winner / RB Rider
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:45 pm
Posts: 10942
Location: kent
Carsten explained it really well on a thread somewhere .


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 9:10 pm 
Old School Grand Master

Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 11:18 am
Posts: 15805
Location: near cwmcarn
angle the frame so the exit hole is at the lowest point, & use a magnet to attract the cable. as chris said carsten gave a thorough explanation :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2006 2:38 am 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 11:49 pm
Posts: 292
Location: writes stuff
cut a length of gear inner cable about 20cm will do.

fold it in half, but don't kink it, and poke the closed loop through the eye into the frame, don't let it drop in, keep hold of it. push it in so it expands to fill the shape of the frame, actually,thinking about it you'll need more than 20cm for your trimble.

then thread your cable through the frame, and when you have got about 3-5cm more than the distance between eyeholes, pull the loopout gently,and it will catch of your cable.

worked with my old Adroit, should be the same with the trimble.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2006 10:25 am 
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 3:14 pm
Posts: 13404
Location: Warwick
Aha - thats a good tip.

Last night at approximatly 12.30am, after 45 minutes of poking about ( :shock: ) I actually managed to get the front mech threaded through with a full outer. The challenge is now to get the rear mech one threaded up (the very hard one cos of the distance)

I'll try the loop trick tonight!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 12:59 am 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 11:49 pm
Posts: 292
Location: writes stuff
let me know how you go, that one was passed down to me from a Campag mechanic instructor.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 8:46 am 
Old School Hero
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 4:00 pm
Posts: 239
Location: Frinton! Sunny Essex
id get string.... and tie it to a pin or something... then use the magnet... strings kust a little more flexible than cable... then pull cable through with the sting :)

good luck! :D those routings are a nightmare!!!

theres also always the gaffatape/zip tie to the frame method :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 9:17 am 
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 3:14 pm
Posts: 13404
Location: Warwick
Ill try the loop method next methinks. Problem I have is the exit hole is way back in the left stay and the entrance hole is at the front. Somehow I need to use a long thin very rigid piece of wire to get all the way through -coat hanger maybe?

The pin trick would be good but the walls are quite thick...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: boswell, IHateRain, Thias, tomato2, WRC27DH and 47 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group