GT Zaskar LE Problems

Sabz__

Dirt Disciple
Hi,
I'm quite new to RetroBike and mountain biking in general. I recently fell off my bike and thought of it as a minor incident but recently my bike is unusable due to the handlebar being able to rotate and the ability for it to tilt which is very noticeable when standing up and cycling. The bike is a GT Zaskar LE(1994 I think), and I was wondering if someone here could assist me in finding the same or similar products. I'm looking to replace the entire handlebar area, including grips and barends as they are all worn and a bent piece of metal has caused the handlebar, as shown in the middle pictures below, to become too loose to ride the bike.

Local bike shops are recommending buying new parts, but I'd prefer to stay with something similar to what I currently have. I've included some extra photos and am debating replacing the rear cassette, chain, front crankset and the frame with priority going to replacing the elastometers. I'm only 15 and made the mistake of choosing a 20+ year old bike as a daily hooligan sort bike, but despite having to get money for new parts every few months I have never really enjoyed cycling as much as on this bike.
As well as this, I've been suffering from a noise when pedalling. This doesn't happen when I flip the bike and pedal with my hands, it only happens when I'm cycling. It's not a physically noticeable problem, it's only the noise made that I can notice. It occurs only when pedalling with my feet. I'm going to try a few possible solutions tomorrow.
DSC07207.jpg

DSC07208.jpg

DSC07209.jpg

DSC07210.jpg

DSC07211.jpg

DSC07216.jpg

DSC07217.jpg

You need to figure out the stem quill diameter, in order to source the replacement.

I've got GT handlebars, some bar ends and probably grips too, not sure of the stem though.

Is your chain clean and lubed?

P.S. If you've got a complete XTR groupset on the bike, don't just go replacing it with some new cheapo crap parts!