Syncros seatposts

troje

Rocky Mountain Fan
Feedback
View
With some excess time this weekend in the post festive season, I thought it is a good idea to start a documentation thread on the various Syncros seatposts that exist. By no means I'm a Syncros expert but I own quite a few of them, so I've lined them up to point out the key differences between the various generations of this seatpost. Any additions, discrepancies or mistakes, let me know!

Lined up, 11 versions of the Syncros seatpost in different materials, lengths, diameters and generations:
P1020029.JPG

Important to know is that Syncros issued different generations of their seatpost, where generally, the first four generations are the ones we tend to put on our retro mountainbikes. All seatposts come with the same unique clamping mechanism that evolved over the different generations.

From left to right generation one till four:
P1020037.JPG

First generation
The first generation was sold up until 1991 and had the Syncros logo as a sticker attached to the top rear part of the seatpost. The exact diameter is not stamped on the seatpost, but a single digit indicating the first number after the decimal was stamped on the top backside of the post.

P1020032.JPG

Sticker logo at the top back of the post:
P1020034.JPG

Second generation
In 1992, Syncros issued their second version with an some improvements. The overall clamping mechanism stayed the same but it was downsized: The allen bolts were reduced from 6mm to 5mm and the clamping mechanism, including the half circle shaped lower part of the clamp was reduced in size. A hole was added on the 2nd generation to make it possible to attach your expensive seatpost to a cable lock. The Syncros logo sticker was replaced by the wording Syncros, in anodized horizontal letters at the back of the seatpost. The diameter and length were stamped at the bottom end of the seatpost.

First Generation left, second generation right:
P1020044.JPG

P1020043.JPG