Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Thu Dec 08, 2016 1:14 pm

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 8:47 pm 
Gold Trader
Gold Trader

sorry if this has already been posted!

when I started riding, 6 speed cassettes were normal. Then it was 7... then 8, 9, 10, 11... and I just read that sram are coming out with a "new" 7 speed cassette (again)... whatever will they think of next? :roll:

http://www.bikemag.com/gear/spotted-sra ... rivetrain/

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 8:50 pm 
Retro Guru

I'm looking forward to Sturmey Archers new 3 speed downhill groupset.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 9:32 pm 
Retro Guru

Makes sense in a lot of respects smooth tiny gear steps are far more beneficial for uphill riding than down.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 9:38 pm 
Old School Hero

secret_squirrel wrote:
Makes sense in a lot of respects smooth tiny gear steps are far more beneficial for uphill riding than down.

Except that the article says it's for downhill (which also makes sense - downhillers don't need granny gears so can get away with higher ratios with small steps)

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 11:11 pm 
Retro Guru

Elysarian wrote:
secret_squirrel wrote:

Except that the article says it's for downhill (which also makes sense - downhillers don't need granny gears so can get away with higher ratios with small steps)

You missed the point of the article and also my cryptic first post - on a DH some riders are less choosy about a smooth set tiny set of gear jumps, presumably since they are mostly at full power they can afford bigger jumps in gearing.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 11:22 pm 
Old School Hero

Remind me not to post tired? >.<

you are, of course, correct :)

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 11:40 am 
B.o.T.M. Winner / Feature Bike