Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Sun Dec 11, 2016 1:33 am

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2013 12:09 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 8:43 pm
Posts: 1910
Location: Hampshire
Has anyone got any experience with replacing the mech limit screws (front and rear)? Seems an obvious place to put a little splash of colour (once the QRs, seatclamp etc are done!) but I don't recall seeing any bikes with these replaced. I've ordered a few anodised M4 bolts anyway so I'll give it a go once they turn up, but would be interested to hear of any experiences and see photos!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2013 1:49 pm 
SotS Winner
SotS Winner
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2008 2:23 pm
Posts: 1793
Location: Grazed and amused
Before you do that, bear in mind that a if you strip or break one of those flimsy anodized bolts you will render the derailleur useless. The stock screws are steel for a reason.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2013 5:51 pm 
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 11:57 pm
Posts: 4074
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
mechagouki wrote:
The stock screws are steel for a reason.

If you've ever tried to turn a stock screw that became stuck in its thread, you'll know that they're actually made of cheese. Seriously, it's just as easy to ruin a stock screw.
I have had this happen to one of my mechs, a nice M730. I ended up adjusting it by filing the stops on the inside of the mechanism. If I ever need to move it to a different frame, there's a high probability that I'll need to ditch the mech indeed.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2013 6:31 pm 
Gold Trader / MacRetro rider
Gold Trader / MacRetro rider

Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 10:05 pm
Posts: 5663
Location: Aberdeen
I was looking at the doing the same sort of thing, I seem to remember browsing Toronto Cycles and they had some suitable bolts.

here's a link... http://www.torontocycles.com/Selling/Aluminum.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2013 8:57 pm 
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 9:06 pm
Posts: 4449
Location: Herts UK
no - sram x0 mech use aluminium alloy screws and without looking, I think they, and shimano - screw into a plastic plate which is there to stop them undoing - need to check that. there should be no problem with them seizeing.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2013 8:59 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 8:43 pm
Posts: 1910
Location: Hampshire
A well timed reply - just finished the bolts on the rear mech right now. Quite pleased with it, though I might put the standard tension screw back on, perhaps one red bolt too far as it sticks out at a different angle from the limit screws. (Maybe the cable bolt as well.) Thanks to all for the replies so far!


Attachments:
XTR Rear Red1.jpg
XTR Rear Red1.jpg [ 151.74 KiB | Viewed 255 times ]
XTR Rear Red2.jpg
XTR Rear Red2.jpg [ 155.79 KiB | Viewed 255 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2013 10:09 pm 
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 9:06 pm
Posts: 4449
Location: Herts UK
I approve.... and would approve even more when you fit a pair of these in red!!

PS I'm using alloy bolts for the cable clamps on both mechs.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2013 10:36 pm 
Retro Guru
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 4:37 pm
Posts: 5198
Location: North West
Go for stainless or Ti grub screws :

Image

Image

Image

WD :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2013 2:00 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 9:02 pm
Posts: 1180
Location: In the Garage in Somerset
I used some Ti bolts for mine, look nice too. found em on fleabay...
Attachment:
IMG_0329.JPG
IMG_0329.JPG [ 231.44 KiB | Viewed 205 times ]

Attachment:
IMG_0327.JPG
IMG_0327.JPG [ 295.25 KiB | Viewed 205 times ]


They were 20mm long so I cut them down to a suitable length, the bolt heads on these also are the same diameter as the original screws... bonus!
for example purple...
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Titanium-Bolt ... 2a0cb6d3cf


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2013 2:26 pm 
Gold Trader / MacRetro rider
Gold Trader / MacRetro rider

Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 10:05 pm
Posts: 5663
Location: Aberdeen
What size are we talking about for those limit screws again? And I assume the cabel clamp bolt is an M6?
I'm in the situation where my main MTB is "finished" and my attention is now turning to the details (aka more ways to blow money on small, costly, and irrellevant parts! :lol: ).

This is turning into a very Bling thread, can you replace the three bolts holding your dropouts on with Ti ones as well?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DynaCol, Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], ultrazenith, Yahoo [Bot] and 39 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group