Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Fri Dec 09, 2016 5:40 am

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2013 3:14 pm 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 12:52 pm
Posts: 1412
Location: Devon
Right, after my 'not too embarrassed to say I can't set up v brakes' post I have sorted them out (thanks everyone). I am now onto gears. Outers cut correctly and fitted and naturally new inner's. Before I start indexing I just went to click through the shifters but I get up to three or four shifts before the gear shifter goes 'soft' and won't click up. First three gears on my eight speed go up and down perfectly. Can't see on any guides any mention of this issue so was wondering if anyone knew what I may have got so wrong. :facepalm:

Lack of cable tension? Seems as tight as I could get it. Using old stx ex shifters and xt mechs.

Would welcome any advice from my learned friends on here...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2013 3:21 pm 
Classified Mod / Lincs, East and South Yorks AEC
Classified Mod / Lincs, East and South Yorks AEC
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 5:45 pm
Posts: 6013
Location: East Yorkshire
Are the stop screws set correctly on the mech itself? I find it best to adjust these before fitting the cable and the chain.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2013 3:47 pm 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 3:55 pm
Posts: 4309
Location: In trubble'fsumthin r'uther....North Warwickshire
Set limit screws on mech first whilst uncabled, and with no chain......jockey wheels directly under outer cogs......wind mech barrel out to halfway......shifter barrel wound fully in.......cable bike up in highest gear.......replace chain....whilst turning pedals shift down one gear and wind out shifter barrel until it makes the gear change and then stop, it should be done......adjustment then remains both ways in both barrels to cover for a spot of stretchy cable once things bed in a bit.....





Provided you don't have rapid rise mechs, high gear = smallest cog...... :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 7:16 pm 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 2:36 pm
Posts: 16748
Location: Yorkshire, England
so your saying the last small cogs at the back do not shift well....and you are using STX shifters...

give your shifters a clean and service first, covers off. degrease, lube the ratchets and drop lube through the internals
a light oil works well.
once you know the shifter is fine then move to cable smoothness, inner sheath of the puters are not rubbing where you chopped them. you need to splay it out after cutting, for example

then m
move to the rear mechanical, clean and lube it up.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 9:21 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 9:01 am
Posts: 1364
Location: West Somerset/East Devon
What mr chicken says;

Check both the shifter and the mech move through the correct ranges before connecting up the cable.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 9:39 pm 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 11:59 am
Posts: 4437
Location: Near Southampton
chrisv40 wrote:
Are the stop screws set correctly on the mech itself? I find it best to adjust these before fitting the cable and the chain.


+1 for this set the limit screws before fitting the cable on both mechs...and the barrel adjusters screw them right in then unscrew a couple of turns before you tighten the cable, you will mainly need to tighten but gives you the option of loosening off just a bit!...never fails for me...its a faff for the first few times but then you get a feel for how it should be. I think I could prob set up a rear mech from scratch in 15 mins now!

Doug


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 10:40 pm 
Dirt Disciple

Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 1:10 am
Posts: 44
Location: newquay
sounds like the ratchet in the lever needs a good spraying or is on it way out

again does it "click" when disconnected?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2013 10:07 am 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 12:52 pm
Posts: 1412
Location: Devon
Thanks for the replies. It (shifter) behaves similarly with no cable I.e. will click through some of the gears but not all. I thought tension with a cable would sort this out but perhaps the levers are knacked?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2013 3:34 pm 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 2:36 pm
Posts: 16748
Location: Yorkshire, England
Take the case off and give it a good degrease and clean and lube up. It is rare they are actually knackered (unless turn of the 90's and the plastic cable holders crack to bits)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: fitzroybikeco, JoeG and 27 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group