Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Sun Dec 04, 2016 11:27 pm

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ

PostPosted: Thu Apr 18, 2013 2:13 pm 
Dirt Disciple

Hi Folks,

Newbie here based up in the north of Scotland, planning a retro project in the next few months (just building up the "War Chest" at present). Have spent far too much time in the last few days surfing round on eBay and Gumtree, my head hurts and my S.O. is not very impressed.

I have a question about sizing. At what point in the 90s did mountain bike sizing start to diverge from the road stuff? I see some early MTB specs with like a 21" / 54cm SP classed as medium?!!

I have a 2000s era GT Avalanche which I love, but at 18" is probably on the limit for me (5'7", 30" trouser leg). It's comfortable for long or urban rides, but not great on the technical stuff where ability runs out and the bawsack-TT interface results.

My project bike will likely be used for work commutes, fire road jaunts etc. so I think I'd size it similar to the Avalanche. In fact I'd really like a GT of some sort, rigid fork, rim brakes... (any advice there? not too clued up on the lineage, but assuming a Zaskar would be a bit OTT!).

Any advice appreciated.

I'm off to rake around in the For Sale section now! :mrgreen:

PostPosted: Thu Apr 18, 2013 2:15 pm 
Retro Guru

Try a 16" GT frame. They are always bigger frames than other manufacturers.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 18, 2013 2:18 pm 
Retro Guru

It's always differed from the road stuff. In order to avoid catastrophic bollock/crossbar incompatibility incidents MTB s have always been a little lower at the crossbar (or virtual crossbar for sloping tube designs) than their road brethren. The big difference was that not every punter or bike shop fully realised this back in the day, and it probably wasn't until the nineties that the message had finally sunk in.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 18, 2013 3:29 pm 
Retro Guru

Check the top tube length rather than the seat tube length.