Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Wed Dec 07, 2016 11:15 pm

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Dura Ace on an MTB
PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2007 1:58 pm 
Gold Trader
Gold Trader
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 11:28 pm
Posts: 4741
Location: Scotland!!!!!! Yay, at last, only 4 years waiting!
Ok guys, I've seen this done before, but is it any good?

I am happy to give it a try unless any one has a really good reason not to. I am only really talking about F&R mechs, no other bits.

Opinions on the back of a postcard to...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2007 2:04 pm 
Lincs AEC
Lincs AEC

Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 8:34 pm
Posts: 12314
Location: Branston, Lincoln
http://www.retrobike.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=17632

This link is to a previous thread about cranks.

My only concern would be about durability, but hey, you dont know if you dont try.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2007 2:05 pm 
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 2:56 pm
Posts: 4776
Location: No brakes? Way to commit soldier.
I have been running a Dura Ace rear mech on one of my bikes with no problems. It is a very short cage, but I'm running a Middleburn Duo up front.

I have to say though that I have just ditched the Dura Ace mech in favour of XTR.. make of that what you will!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2007 2:07 pm 
Gold Trader
Gold Trader
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 11:28 pm
Posts: 4741
Location: Scotland!!!!!! Yay, at last, only 4 years waiting!
just done some research myself and it looks as though the Dura Ace cannot cope with more than 26 teeth or less than 12 at the back. Even if you wanted to run a road mech on the back the next model down is not all that well adapted (Ultrega) 13, and 28. The 105 however can deal with a 12,28.

Oh well, would still be interested in anyone's experience of doing this.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2007 2:07 pm 
Mr Darcy
Mr Darcy
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2005 8:36 pm
Posts: 5687
Location: Bicester
Fine for the rear, used 105 loads without problem


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2007 2:08 pm 
King of the DuckBoard
King of the DuckBoard

Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 12:30 pm
Posts: 21466
BITD i used 'Roadie' Suntour on my Trimble with Bullseye hubs. Worked fine. I think it was called Suntour superbe pro or some thing like that. If your like me and only use 2 chain rings then no problem using rodie front mech eccept fitting could be problem with getting the mech low for the mtb smaller chainrings. certainly on my Trimble frame was problematical as the area got fatter near the chan rings, if you know what i mean.
But rear cass. size and rear mech cage also is a possible area of problem - short cage wide cass. teething. Were as road kit is all close ratio.
If you got the time and spare ££ give it a try??


Last edited by tintin40 on Fri Nov 23, 2007 2:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2007 2:15 pm 
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 2:56 pm
Posts: 4776
Location: No brakes? Way to commit soldier.
yeah that 26 max teeth thing is a bit of Shimano blurb, I run a 12-28 at the back with a very short cage Dura Ace mesh and it handles it just fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2007 2:18 pm 
Gold Trader / PoTM Winner / RB Rider
Gold Trader / PoTM Winner / RB Rider
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:45 pm
Posts: 10944
Location: kent
a lot of DH bikes use road mechs .


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2007 2:44 pm 
BoTM Winner / retrobike rider
BoTM Winner / retrobike rider
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:12 pm
Posts: 5785
development_cycle wrote:
just done some research myself and it looks as though the Dura Ace cannot cope with more than 26 teeth or less than 12 at the back.....The 105 however can deal with a 12,28.

Oh well, would still be interested in anyone's experience of doing this.


Dura-ace runs fine on my Yeti and on my DBR's BITD. Yes you are limited to 12-26 but the shift is better than XTR IMO. More solid anyway. Also refer to Sheldon Brown for cable location on teh mech if not using Dura-ace shifters.

105 will run a 28 but teh pivots will wear out quickly.

I wouldn't recommend a Dura-ace front mech on an MTB.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2007 2:53 pm 
Gold Trader
Gold Trader
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 11:28 pm
Posts: 4741
Location: Scotland!!!!!! Yay, at last, only 4 years waiting!
I found that there was a Dura Ace tripple ring crank with special front mech to go with it, so that sounds interesting. Wouldn't use the crank though, just front mech.

What about the actual mechanism on the front. I would need a top pull mech, and it seems as though most road front mechs are bottom pull, anyone know if there were any top pull's or if I can use a bottom pull on a bike designed for top pull, or am I getting onto really dodgy ground?

Cheers for replies so far.

Tim


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: al-onestare, Bullet2bullet, Gerard, Google [Bot], grarea, IHateRain, jesszet, JoeG, longun, losvizzero, Retro junkie, Retro_Roy, retrobikeguy and 81 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group