How to force new steerer into crown??

orange71

Retrobike Rider
Gold Trader
Feedback
View
I have a new steerer for my AMP fork. Managed ot get the old one out (with a bit of erm...gentle persuasion :roll: ). However I am struggling to get the new one in. AMP said you need a hyraulic press. I don't have one of them on my multi-tool. I have managed to get it some of the way but have an inch to go (the hardest bit!).

My question is: given that both crown and steerer are aluminium, would freezing them before pushing it in make the job easier? Will it make the slightest difference?

I'm not an expert on this, but I'd be very careful about how much percussive encouragement you give it to get the steerer in properly. Anywhere aluminium is involved I don't like the idea of exposing it to the high stress of, say, a hammer blow or the like. Steel will accept that kinda treatment a little better than aluminium

Can't you fashion togther a press using a decent quality bench vice ? You might need to make some wooden supports to hold the aluminium crown & steerer tube so that the vice is not directly pressing against the metal of the forks?

If in doubt get it done by a professional / the manufacturer, especially a part as structurally vital as a fork crown!

Personally i wouldn't use the old crown with a new steerer. Press-fit steerers/crowns are assembled new, how do you know you haven't affected the crown by removing the old steerer?

I'd be concerned about them parting company, most likely when taking off/landing something big :(

personally i would nip to my local garage and ask them to press it in with a proper press and bung em a tenner.

You could always try a local engineering firm and see if they have a fly press, they have a very handy hole through the middle, long stroke and forks fit pretty well.