Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Tue Dec 06, 2016 7:01 pm

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 6:19 pm 
Gold Trader
Gold Trader
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 10:21 pm
Posts: 2159
Location: Cornwall
hi i have a set of rc35s, ideally i want them to turn in to rc30s ! can i just keep my 1" crown and steerer and just swop the legs over? do the 1" and the 1 1/8" versions vary apart from the steerer? as rc 30s are quite hard to get does anyone know of anyone who makes rigid legs to fit? does any one have a set of rc30s spare? cheers for your time guys... laterrrrzzzzz


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 9:05 pm 
Devout Dirtbag
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:18 pm
Posts: 147
Location: Netherlands
Thats a good question.
I want to know that too.


Years ago i have converted my RC30's from 1 inch to 1 1/8 inch, but not with the original Pace headtube. That's because it was out of stock from Pace and they let me know there not going to make them in the future (that's what my Dutch Pace distrubitor told me).

So i bought a other brand 1 1/8 inch headtube and make it fit in the Pace crown, and worked very fine in my bike (Gazelle titanium).

But now i am not using the Gazelle titanium anymore and want to use the Pace RC30 for my Slingshot with has a 1 inch headtube.
The problem for me is, that the RC30 crown now has a hole that is to big to fit the original 1 inch headtube back in place for my Slingshot. :cry:

So a solution for me is perhaps to buy a RC35 in 1 inch and replace the legs for the RC30 legs.

:!: Please someone let us know if the legs of a Pace RC30 wil fit into a RC35 crown. Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 9:10 pm 
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 3:14 pm
Posts: 13405
Location: Warwick
Im an expert at this as my crowns and steerers are from all over the shop.

My Pace has a 1" crown and a 1" steerer with RC30 legs in. Work perfect.

If you have a larger pace crown - phone them up and explain - they will have a shim that you can use that you pop in and hey presto - 1" steerer in a 1 1/8" crown!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 9:37 pm 
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 3:14 pm
Posts: 13405
Location: Warwick
And yes you can swap legs around. Easy and useful!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 9:46 pm 
Devout Dirtbag
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:18 pm
Posts: 147
Location: Netherlands
Thanks Jez!

Do you have a Pace 1 inch Pace crown you like to sell, so i can put my RC30 legs in it? :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 9:47 pm 
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 3:14 pm
Posts: 13405
Location: Warwick
May have soon when the new Salsa appears. Due tomorrow or Thursday - Ill keep u posted.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 9:51 pm 
Devout Dirtbag
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:18 pm
Posts: 147
Location: Netherlands
jez-2-many-bikes wrote:
May have soon when the new Salsa appears. Due tomorrow or Thursday - Ill keep u posted.


Great! There's still hope for my RC30's.
Thanks Jez :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 10:48 pm 
retrobike rider / Gold Trader
retrobike rider / Gold Trader
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:35 pm
Posts: 8423
Location: The desolate flats of Cambridgeshire
Merlinboy, i have a pace RC35 1" crown in my "for use at some point in the future" box. for the right price i could be prepared to sell it....although i know i'll regret it if i do. Its been sat unused for 10 years, but the minute i sell it i'll end up buying a frame with 1" headset again...always my way.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: hey this is my thread!!
PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 10:54 pm 
Gold Trader
Gold Trader
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 10:21 pm
Posts: 2159
Location: Cornwall
oii merlin boy stop hi-jacking my thread !! hahahhah ive got an idea why dont you think about selling me your rc30s?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2007 7:25 pm 
Devout Dirtbag
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:18 pm
Posts: 147
Location: Netherlands
magicmistertea wrote:
oii merlin boy stop hi-jacking my thread !! hahahhah ive got an idea why dont you think about selling me your rc30s?


Sorry for hi-jacking your thread...... :oops:

The RC30's are not for sale, but if i want to sell them in the future, you will be the first to know :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: clubby, Jamis Diablo, Retro_Roy, RickTheUncivil, Yahoo [Bot] and 33 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group